Brian Dingle


Brian Dingle is the current Chairman of Te Kauwhata Retirement Trust Board and has been a Board member for the past thirteen years, of which the last ten has been in the role of the Vice Chairman. He is married to Pauline, a registered nurse.

Having been brought up in Waerenga and by living and farming in the area of Pukekawa for 40 years Brian brings great knowledge and expertise of rural communities to the Board. He not only is a dry stock farmer but spends time in his Kiwi Fruit Orchard.

Brian openly talks about his enjoyment of being actively involved in his community and has over the years held positions on many committees including Schools, the Te Kauwhata Rugby Club and the Waikare Golf club. Brian has also found time to manage and coach various Rugby Teams and Rowing Crews.

It is his genuine, caring interest in aged care and the elderly that sees him strive for a delivery of care that is based on dignity and ongoing respect. Brain is often seen around the village talking to and listening to their stories. It is this interest that Brian helps guide and support the Trust to offer the type of care that our elderly deserve.





Neil Bateup

Board Member

Neil Bateup has been a dedicated member of the Trust Board for 32 years.

He lives in Te Hoe with wife Eileen and has 4 married children and 6 treasured grandchildren.

Neil is a passionate farmer and, along with Eileen and good staff, farms 240 hectares milking 700 Jersey cows, milking them Once a Day all year round. Neil and Eileen also have interests in a farming company in Chile where Neil has been active in the production committee and visits there yearly to support this interest, to offer valuable guidance and to share his expertise.

Neil is also currently the Chairman of the Waikato Hauraki/Coromandel Rural Support Trust and the Parish Council and Property & Finance committee of Trinity Church, Huntly.

Neil has been a member of the Waikato executive of Federated Farmers Dairy Section, Chairman of the Te Hoe School Committee and the Huntly College Board of Trustees, a Fonterra Shareholder Councillor and a Livestock Improvement Shareholder Councillor.

It is with this commitment and knowledge that the Te Kauwhata Retirement Trust Board and our local communities receive excellent guidance and support.

Neil,despite of all of this, has still managed to enjoy some of the simple pleasures ,even though time is limited, to play a little golf, take time out at the beach and being out in the boat catching or attempting to catch a fish.



Toni Grace

Board member

Toni Grace (née Litolff) was born in Christchurch, New Zealand in 1970.

Toni's immersion into the local community extends beyond her employment. Toni has been a member of the Te Kauwhata Community Committee since 2006 and currently holds the position of Deputy Chairperson. She has been the Session Leader for the Te Kauwhata mainly music group for pre-schoolers since 2008; and has been a member of the Te Kauwhata Retirement Trust Board since 2009.

As a mother, Toni is actively involved with her daughter's education at Te Kauwhata Primary School and the extra-curricular activities of swimming, ballet and squash that her daughter currently enjoys.

Toni is also an active member of the Te Kauwhata Squash Club, and the Te Kauwhata Patchwork & Quilting group. Toni also enjoys reading, watching sport, travel, wine & food, other crafts, listening to music and mountain biking … when time permits, that is!



Jan Dawson

Board Member

Jan has worked in the Te Kauwhata area with her husband for 27 years. Jan brings to the Board her clinical expertise having qualified as a Registered General and Obstetric Nurse at Middlemore Hospital.    Jan worked as a District Nurse for almost 15 years in the Te Kauwhata and Huntly area and for a short time worked at our Aparangi Care Unit part time. Jan also has experience as a Community Palliative Care nurse and as a Field Worker for the Motor Neurone Disease Association covering the Waikato region.

Jan   has brought not only this clinical expertise but her previous Board experience having served three years on the National Council-Motor Neurone Disease as well as numerous local community based Boards including the Te Kauwhata & Districts Information & Support Centre (DISC) and sporting organisations.

Jan openly shares her special interest in the care of the terminally ill and is known for her voluntary work in a hospice

Jan is passionate about the Te Kauwhata Community having raised her three children in the district.   She is also kept very busy assisting in the family owned contracting business.




Brya Castles

Board Member

Brya Castles is a registered nurse and work at a medical centre in Huntly. She also worked as a midwife at the Huntly Maternity Hospital.

Byra is married to Phil, with three grown boys who all have shifted out of home, She live in Te Kauwhata having farmed in the Mangapiko Valley for most of her married life.

Brya has been involved in committees, including the branch of our local Plunket, Huntly & Districts Business and Professional Women, and The Lower Waikato Toastmasters


Ben Hitchcock

Board Member 


Ben is a Veterinarian who has worked and lived in Te Kauwhata for the past 27 years.  Ben spent 10 years on the Board of Trustees at the local Te Kauwhata primary school. 


Ben and his wife Brenda have two daughters who are both currently working and attending University in the south island.  Spare time is spent at the beach bach fishing and on the mountains skiing in the winter.



John Cunningham




Michelle Waters